About the PAS Meeting

The Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) Meeting brings together thousands of pediatricians and other health care providers united by a common mission: improve the health and well-being of children worldwide. This international gathering includes researchers, academics, as well as clinical care providers and community practitioners. Presentations cover issues of interest to generalists as well as topics critical to a wide array of specialty and sub-specialty areas.

We are excited to share with you the first-ever strategic plan for the Pediatric Academic Societies (PAS) Meeting!
This plan, recently adopted by the PAS Meeting Board of Directors, builds upon the historic success of the PAS Meeting and codifies our aspirational vision:

The PAS Meeting will be the premier North American scholarly child health meeting.

DISCOVER the latest in original research from young and established investigators

ENGAGE with world-renowned experts in the basic and clinical sciences

BELONG to a network of cross-disciplinary colleagues who support academic pediatrics

Our Partners

The PAS Meeting is produced through a partnership of four pediatric organizations that are leaders in the advancement of pediatric research and child advocacy. These partners, designated below, are pleased to celebrate ongoing collaborations with the Alliance and Affiliate supporters of the PAS Meeting denoted below.

  • American Pediatric Society (APS) is an organization dedicated to the advancement of child health through the promotion of pediatric research, recognition of achievement, and cultivation of excellence in pediatrics through advocacy, scholarship, education and leadership development and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement.
  • Society for Pediatric Research (SPR) is an international society whose purpose is to create a network of multidisciplinary researchers to improve child health. SPR promotes the interchange of ideas and provides opportunities for investigators to present and be honored for their work.
  • Academic Pediatric Association (APA) is a national organization dedicated to improving the health of all children and adolescents through leadership in the education of child health professionals, research, dissemination of knowledge, patient care, and advocacy, in partnership with children, families, and communities. This is accomplished through membership activities, funded research and teaching programs and advocacy to affect public and governmental opinion positively for children.
  • American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) is an organization of primary care pediatricians, pediatric medical subspecialists, and pediatric surgical specialists committed to the attainment of optimal physical, mental and social health for all infants, children, adolescents and young adults.

Alliances:

Board of Directors

Bruce Gelb – President
APS
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
bruce.gelb@mssm.edu

David Hunstad – Secretary/Treasurer
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu

Benard Dreyer
AAP
NYU School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital
Benard.Dreyer@nyumc.org

Michelle Gill
SPR Ambassador, North American Regionals
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
michelle.gill@utsouthwestern.edu  

Christine A. Gleason
APS
University of Washington
cgleason@u.washington.edu

Daniel Rauch
AAP
The Floating Hospital for Children,
Tufts University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Steve Selbst
APA President
Nemours/A.I. duPont Hospital for Children
sselbst@nemours.org

Judith Shaw
APA Secretary
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu

Ex officio

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Committee Chair
University of Rochester Medical Center
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
 
Eileen Fenton
PAS Executive Director
eileen.fenton@central-office.info

Operating Committee

Judith Shaw – Chair
APA Secretary
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu

Clifford Bogue
APS Secretary/Treasurer
Yale School of Medicine, Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
clifford.bogue@yale.edu

Benard Dreyer
AAP
NYU School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital
Benard.Dreyer@nyumc.org

David Hunstad
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu

Ex-officio

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Committee Chair
University of Rochester Medical Center
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu

Wendy Hobson-Rohrer
PAS Workshop Committee Chair
University of Utah Health Sciences
wendy.hobson@hsc.utah.edu

Program Committee

Patrick D. Brophy
PAS Program Chair

Nephrology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Gosliano Children’s Hospital
Patrick_Brophy@URMC.Rochester.edu
Affiliation: APS, ASPN, SPR

Robin Steinhorn
APS President
Neonatology
Children’s National Hospital
rsteinhorn@childrensnational.org
Affiliation: APS, AAP, SPR

Steven Abman
APS Vice President
Pulmonology, Critical Care, Neonatology
University of Colorado School of Medicine, Children’s Hospital Colorado
steven.abman@ucdenver.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Clifford Bogue
APS Secretary/Treasurer
Critical Care
Yale School of Medicine, Yale-New Haven Children’s Hospital
clifford.bogue@yale.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, APA, SPR

Vineet Bhandari
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Drexel University College of Medicine,
St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children
vineet.bhandari@drexelmed.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, SR

David Cornfield
Pulmonology, Critical Care
Stanford University School of Medicine, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital dcornfield@stanford.edu
Affiliation: APS, SPR

Jennifer Read
Epidemiology
University of Vermont, Vermont Department of Health
jennifer.read@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APS, AAP, PIDS, SPR

Michelle Gill
SPR Ambassador, North American Regionals
Infectious Diseases
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
michelle.gill@utsouthwestern.edu  
Affiliation: SPR
 
Joel Hirschhorn
SPR President
Endocrinology, Genetics
Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
joel.hirschhorn@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS, PES
 
David Hunstad
SPR Strategic and Operations Officer
Infectious Diseases
Washington University
dhunstad@wustl.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS, PIDS
 
Roberta Keller
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Univ. of Calif. San Francisco
kellerr@peds.ucsf.edu
Affiliation: SPR, APS
 
Jamie Lohr
Cardiology
University of Minnesota Medical Center
lohrx003@umn.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Nathalie Maitre
Neonatology
Ohio State University College of Medicine, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
nathalie.maitre@nationwidechildrens.org
Affiliation: SPR

Paul Chung
APA President
Children with Special Health Care Needs, Developmental−Behavioral Pediatrics
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine, Mattel Children’s Hospital
paul.j.chung@kp.org
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Latha Chandran
APA President-elect
Medical Education
SUNY at Stony Brook School of Medicine
latha.chandran@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Judith Shaw
APA Secretary
General Pediatrics, Quality Improvement
University of Vermont
Judith.Shaw@uvm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP, APS

Wendy Hobson-Rohrer
PAS Workshop Coordinator
General Pediatrics
University of Utah Health/School of Medicine
Wendy.Hobson@hsc.utah.edu
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Rachel Gross
Obesity, Underserved Populations
NYU School of Medicine
Rachel.Gross@nyulangone.org
Affiliation: APA, SPR

Traci Wolbrink
Medical Education, Critical Care
Harvard Medical School, Boston
Children’s Hospital
traci.wolbrink@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP


Kathryn King Cristaldi
Telemedicine/General Pediatrics
Medical University of South Carolina
kingkl@musc.edu 
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Benard Dreyer
General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
NYU School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital
Benard.Dreyer@nyumc.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, APS

Amy Houtrow
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation/Health Services Research
University of Pittsburgh, Children’s Hospital
houtrow@upmc.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Daniel Rauch
Hospital Medicine
The Floating Hospital for Children, Tufts
University School of Medicine
drauch@tuftsmedicalcenter.org
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Elizabeth (Tess) Saarel
Cardiology
Cleveland Clinic
saarele@ccf.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Alan Schroeder
Critical Care, Hospital Medicine
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital, Stanford University School of Medicine
aschroe@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA

Teri Turner
Medical Education
Baylor College of Medicine
teri.turner@bcm.edu
Affiliation: APA, AAP

Jochen Profit
Neonatology
Stanford University, Lucile Salter Packard Children’s Hospital
profit@stanford.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Rita Ryan
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Medical University of South Carolina
ryanr@musc.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, SPR

Jennifer Charlton
ASPN Program Co-Chair
Nephrology
University of Virginia Children’s Hospital
JRC6N@virginia.edu
Affiliation: ASPN, AAP, SPR

Maury Pinsk
ASPN Program Co-Chair
Nephrology
University of Manitoba, Winnipeg Children’s Hospital
mpinsk@exchange.hsc.mb.ca
Affiliation: ASPN

Katsuhiro Arai
Gastroenterology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
arai-k@ncchd.go.jp

Tetsuya Isayama
Neonatology
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
isayama-t@ncchd.go.jp

Akihiko Saitoh
Infectious Diseases
Niigata University Graduate School of Medical and Dental Sciences
asaitoh@med.niigata-u.ac.jp

Kazumi Sakashita
Adolescent Medicine
National Center for Child Health and Development Tokyo, Japan
sakashita-k@ncchd.go.jp

Kazuko Wada
Vice President JPS
Neonatology
Osaka Women’s and Children’s Hospital
kwada@ped.med.osaka-u.ac.jp

Marsha Anderson
Infectious Diseases
University of Colorado School of Medicine
marsha.anderson@childrenscolorado.org
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS, SPR

Linda Waggoner-Fountain
Infectious Diseases
University of Virginia Health System
LAW4Q@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu

Taeun Chang
Fetal and Neonatal Neurology
Children’s National Medical Center
tchang@childrensnational.org
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Frederick Kaskel
Nephrology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
frederick.kaskel@einstein.yu.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APS, ASPN, SPR


Shaun Morris
Infectious Diseases
Hospital for Sick Children, University of Toronto
shaun.morris@sickkids.ca
Affiliation: AAP, PIDS

Suzinne Pak-Gorstein
General Pediatrics, Global Health
University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, Seattle Children’s Hospital
spakgor@uw.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA


Ruth Etzel
Milken Institute School of Public Health
George Washington University
retzel@gwu.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Donald L. Batisky
Nephrology
Emory University, Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta
dbatisk@emory.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN

Daniel Feig
Nephrology
UAB, Children’s of Alabama
dfeig@peds.UAB.edu
Affiliation: AAP, ASPN, SPR

Kelle Moley
Senior Vice President and Chief Scientific Officer;
Liaison for the Developmental Prize for
March of Dimes Foundation
KMoley@marchofdimes.org

Deborah Neigut
Gastroenterology, Hepatology, Nutrition
University of Colorado School of Medicine
deborah.neigut@childrenscolorado.org

Tamara Simon
Seattle Children’s Hospital, University of Washington
tamara.simon@seattlechildrens.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Derek Williams
Monroe Carrell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt
Derek.Williams@vanderbilt.edu
Affiliations: AAP, APA, SPR

Ann Chahroudi
Infectious Diseases
Emory University School of Medicine
achahro@emory.edu
Affiliation: PIDS

Richard Chung
Adolescent Medicine
Duke University
Richard.chung@duke.edu
Affiliation: SPR

Ellen Selkie
Adolescent Medicine
University of Michigan
eselkie@med.umich.edu
Affiliation: AAP

Susan Berger
Academic General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
sberger@northwestern.edu
Affiliation: APA

Alan L. Mendelsohn
General and Developmental-Behavioral Pediatrics
New York University School of Medicine, Bellevue Hospital Center
alm5@nyu.edu
Affiliation: AAP, APA, SPR

Todd A. Florin
Emergency Medicine
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
taflorin@luriechildrens.org
Affiliation: AAP, APA, PIDS, SPR

Lise Nigrovic
Emergency Medicine
Boston Children’s Hospital
lise.nigrovic@childrens.harvard.edu
Affiliation:  APS, SPR

Michael Posencheg
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
posencheg@email.chop.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Sarah Taylor
Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine
Yale School of Medicine
mailto:Sarah.N.Taylor@yale.edu
Affiliation: AAP, SPR

Administrative Staff

Eileen G. Fenton
PAS Executive Director
Eileen.Fenton@pasmeeting.org
Glenda Minshew
PAS Meeting Director

Glenda.Minshew@pasmeeting.org
Belinda Thomas
PAS Director, Scientific Program 

Belinda.Thomas@pasmeeting.org
Kate Culliton
PAS Chief Financial Officer

Kate.Culliton@pasmeeting.org
Antonio Moreno
PAS Director, Information Technology 

Antonio.Moreno@pasmeeting.org
Carmen Beck
PAS Director, Resource Development
CBeck@pasmeeting.org

Past Meetings

2019 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 24 – May 1

2018 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 5 – 8

2017 ~ San Francisco, CA ~ May 6 – 9

2016 ~ Baltimore, MD ~ April 30 – May 3

2015 ~ San Diego, CA ~ April 25 – 28

2014 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 3 – 7

2013 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ May 4 – 7

2012 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 28 – May 1

2011 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 30 – May 3

2010 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ May 1 – 4

Future Meetings

2020 ~ Philadelphia, PA ~ April 29 – May 6

2021 ~ Vancouver, Canada ~ April 28 – May 5

2022 ~ Denver, CO ~ April 20 – 27

2023 ~ Washington, D.C. ~ April 26 – May 3

2024 ~ Toronto, Canada ~ May 1 – 8

2025 ~ Honolulu, HI ~ April 23 – 30

2026 ~ Boston, MA ~ April 22 – 29

2027 ~ Minneapolis, MN ~ April 28 – May 5

2028 ~ Salt Lake City, UT ~ May 3 – May 10